On Monday, Zico held a media showcase for his new mini-album, Grown Ass Kid. This marks the artistŌĆÖs comeback two years after he halted his activities to fulfill his mandatory military duty. ŌĆ£This long two-year hiatus has made me think about a lot of things,ŌĆØ he shared. ŌĆ£And because of that, I got to write songs about my concerns.ŌĆØ ŌĆ£As I spent a lot of time alone, I thought a lot about myself,ŌĆØ Zico added. ŌĆ£Rather than thinking negatively about me, I was able to simplify my thoughts. If data has accumulated within me, this time has helped me to erase all those data and start anew. So now my mind is very clear.ŌĆØ About why he chose ŌĆ£grown ass kidŌĆØ as the title of his new smash, Zico explained, ŌĆ£The world has changed a lot during the two-year hiatus. However, even in the midst of rapid changes, there was one thing that didnŌĆÖt change ŌĆō my energy, passion, and identity in music. The album title implies that.ŌĆØ He continued, ŌĆ£IŌĆÖm all grown up, but IŌĆÖm still just a kid. Also, it means that I took out my past self and reinterpreted it in a completely new way.ŌĆØ ŌĆ£Since I havenŌĆÖt communicated with the public for two years, I was the only person who could give feedback on my own music,ŌĆØ Zico shared. ŌĆ£I was the one writing it and listening to it, so it became sort of a play time. So I think youŌĆÖll get to hear music thatŌĆÖs just like Zico. ItŌĆÖs an album that shows ŌĆśraw ZicoŌĆÖ here and there. It contains a lot of my past self.ŌĆØ

Source (1) ┬Ā

Zico Says Two Year Hiatus Has Helped Him Clear His Mind and Get His Creative Juice Flowing - 47