Kingdom: Ashin of the North is a special episode of NetflixŌĆÖs Kingdom series. Released on the 23rd, the show unraveled the secret behind the story of Ashin and the resurrection plant that enforced a great tragedy on Joseon. Writer Kim revealed that she wrote the script of Ashin while thinking about Jun Ji Hyun. ŌĆ£Jun Ji Hyun is so awesome, and I know that she has lots of fancy images to her. But I found the eyes that she showed in Assassination and The Berlin File so charming,ŌĆØ she shared. ŌĆ£If she said no to the casting, I was going to kneel down and beg her. When I thought about who else could play Ashin, I couldnŌĆÖt think of anyone.ŌĆØ When asked about the possibility of season 3 of Kingdom, Kim answered, ŌĆ£Actually, Ashin of the North is like a prequel to seasons 1 and 2. If thatŌĆÖs the case, then there must have been someone who knew about the resurrection plant even before that. ItŌĆÖs just my imagination as a writer, but I think someone must have known about the plant when the north barrier collapsed.ŌĆØ She continued, ŌĆ£So it will most likely be about the story of the very beginning of the resurrection plant. Nothing about season 3 is set in stone, so I canŌĆÖt say much. But IŌĆÖve already come out with how I personally hope season 3 will end.ŌĆØ ┬Ā Source (1, 2)

 Kingdom  Writer Kim Eun Hee Talks About Working with Jun Ji Hyun and the Possibility of  Kingdom 3  - 23