ŌĆ£I didnŌĆÖt even think of playing the leading role, but luckily I got to play the main character. I wasnŌĆÖt in a hurry as I auditioned several times, but I was strongly attracted to the character. She is a tough girl who pulls through all kinds of situations, but she is also has a soft heart and laughs and cries easily. I wanted to show you her unique positive mind. Many people still remember me as an idol, and I wanted to break that image, too.ŌĆØ She had a lot of concerns since this was her first Korean drama in a long time. There were worries and burdens over people feeling awkward with her acting, since she mostly worked in Japan. ŌĆ£It was really fortunate there was no controversy over bad acting. I think I had my own tricks that I developed as I worked in Japan. The director even took care of my outfits. The colorful outfits felt a bit awkward at first, but after seeing them on screen, I understood the directorŌĆÖs intentions.ŌĆØ This year, Kang Ji Young entered her 13th year since her debut. After stepping into the entertainment world as a member of KARA when she was 15 years old, she left for England to study when she turned 20. ŌĆ£I was thrilled to plan my own schedules. I felt a sense of accomplishment that I could do something alone. After staying in England for about a half a year, I met a Japanese agency by chance, and thatŌĆÖs when I started working in Japan.ŌĆØ Kang Ji Young made her debut as an actor in Japan and gradually built up her filmography. ŌĆ£Working in Japan was a new world compared to when I worked back and forth between Korea and Japan. When I jumped into their world, I felt that the culture and propensity were totally different from ours. I have put all my efforts into learning Japanese. Thanks to that, I was able to play a Japanese role as well. If KARA opened up the first act of my life, I think now, after spending time in Japan, is the second act of actor Kang Ji YoungŌĆÖs life.ŌĆØ She also expressed her sorriness and longing for the late Goo Hara. ŌĆ£I think the thing that hurts me the most is that thereŌĆÖs nothing I can do for her. ItŌĆÖs not something I can forget, so I just keep missing her.ŌĆØ After recalling her times with Goo Hara, she said that she would never want to get rid of her KARA title. ŌĆ£I still look up videos of our KARA days, and even now, I think it was amazing. I donŌĆÖt think I can fo that again. (Watching them) I try to revive my passion and live my life to the fullest. I received an unbelievable amount of love, and I have finally found a way to express myself. It is the time that has lead me to where I am now, and it is the time that can never come back.ŌĆØ Source (1, 2, 3)

From KARA   s Kang Ji Young to Actor Kang Ji Young - 7From KARA   s Kang Ji Young to Actor Kang Ji Young - 71From KARA   s Kang Ji Young to Actor Kang Ji Young - 20