On Dec 7, aespa appeared on MBC Radio Kim Shin YoungŌĆÖs Hope Song at Noon as guests. And during their 50-minutes long episode, members talked about their stage names. Kim Shin Young brought up the subject, saying, ŌĆ£Each one of you has very unique stage names. I wonder, were there any other candidates for your name?ŌĆØ Winter first answered, ŌĆ£For me, there were names like Millie, Youngwon, Moah. But my birthday is Jan 1 and people told me that I have these clean and white images. So my name became Winter.ŌĆØ Ningning said, ŌĆ£I have my real (Chinese) name. But when I was young, my nickname was Ningning. Staff in the company also called me by that name, so naturally it became my name.ŌĆØ Giselle said, ŌĆ£When I was a trainee, I always wore headbands. And my training unnie told me that I look like an English girl. Giselle means elegance and classy, so it became my stage name.ŌĆØ Karina said, ŌĆ£IŌĆÖm Catholic, and my baptismal name is Katarina. So Karina, derived from that, became my name.ŌĆØ She then laughed and added, ŌĆ£Other candidates for me were Oohahh, Jasmine and Z-on.ŌĆØ

Source (1)